Syllabus of Study

The Institute's Syllabus of Study divides the source material for genealogical research up into 24 separate topics plus 2 appendices covering techniques which underpin the whole course:

Topic 1 Introduction
Topic 2 Family Records
Topic 3 The Records of General Registration in England and Wales
Topic 4 The Census Returns 1801-1911
Topic 5 Parish Registers and Bishops' Transcripts
Topic 6 The Parish Chest
Topic 7 Palaeography
Topic 8 Wills and Probate
Topic 9 Service Records
Topic 10 Education and Occupations
Topic 11 Nonconformity
Topic 12 Names
Topic 13 Migration
Topic 14 Census Substitutes
Topic 15 Miscellany
Topic 16 Quarter Sessions
Topic 17 Manorial Records
Topic 18 Title Deeds
Topic 19 Maps and Associated Records
Topic 20 Heraldry
Topic 21 Scotland and Wales
Topic 22 Irish and Other British Records
Topic 23 Legal Records at The National Archives
Topic 24 Ecclesiastical Records

A more detailed copy of the Syllabus of Study is available here as a PDF file.

Next: Graded Assessment

Designed and hosted by Canterbury Web Services Limited